跳转到主要内容

死海卷轴的重要性

迈克尔•海库普

靠着库姆兰的悬崖边工作时,羊倌小男孩随意扔的石头,导致20世纪最重要的考古发现—死海卷轴。逾70年以后,还有找到影响我们理解古文件和它们曾怎样被保存的发展的线索。

基督徒该如何对政府作出反应?

斯图尔特•瓦乔维奇

关于恰当地执行现在社会中的法律及秩序,意见普遍有别,时常导致动乱、抗议、连暴力。有人们和群体之间的这种强烈分歧,所有人力求推动其理想及想象,真正和平和稳定甚至是可能吗?古文本提供-为政府和被统治的人-连现在仍然有意义的了解。

生活能是不断的寻欢作乐吗?

贾维德•汗

我们最后会发现寻欢作乐的生活方式失去其吸引力。例如有无限制才智的名人可能到他们认为生活无意义、不令人满意和不值得过的时候—因此我们在新闻听到自杀的尝试。你们看这(视频)的有些人也可能过了这无限制和控制的生活,并到了时候,欣慰和满足感失去了吸引力。这给我们带来哲学上的困境。尽情地玩并享受生活是错吗?生活该变得主要是认真和可预料的吗?生活该包括限制吗?若如此,它们要到什么程度?我们能有有益和令人愉快的生存吗?

以谢意克服抑郁

斯图尔特•瓦乔维奇

在我们中,有每年花费全球经济数以十亿计元的折磨,并在我们中从最贫穷到最富有的人导致受害者。这现代泛滥正在同样地损害年轻人和老人的健康、财富、及幸福。这折磨不是病毒导致的,然而它像最恶性的接触性传染病传播。当一个人受抑郁的折磨时,一切似乎无望,看似没有从痛苦的解脱。处于这状态,很难为任何东西感激,然而找出方式表示谢意是防止抑郁最有效的自然方式之一。

为何核心家庭对社会是根本的三个原因

乔纳森•莱利

核心家庭是任何社会单独最重要的制度。没有它,我们全存在会很快变得受威胁。然而有些人试图破坏家庭,这样做,其努力是对人类的打击。这里是家庭单位对社会是根本的三个原因。

那带和路新方案

斯图尔特•瓦乔维奇

一带一路新方案是最有创见和影响深远的国际发展,自四十年代。这非凡的贸易网络,在规模和潜在性方面,是空前的,现在不但承诺促进横过欧亚和非洲的贸易及商业,而且增进文化了解及和谐发展。

品质重要吗?

迈克尔•海库普

有向举足轻重名人突然增加的性骚扰的索赔,必须问的问题是:“这种品质不正直的人到底如何变得杰出?”观察政治活动,我时常发现自己对关于几乎任何事被谴责的一个人多么快能被诽谤感到惊讶。关于大部分叙述的墨水刚刚有时间干,或会是等于推特的信息所说的任何事物,接着无数政治家对被谴责者怎么丢脸和不道德宣告其愤怒。清白直到证明有过失的(原则)似乎被马上排挤被谴责做错事的任何人替代。当然,这是被谴责者是反对党成员。品质还是重要吗?

女儿需要父亲吗?

金尼尔·彭曼

家庭是重要的。在他们孩子生活上,人们常常集中于父亲的角色。在他女儿生活中,积极、关心的父亲会提供什么利益?这不是贬低母亲的影响,也不是忽略孩子的需要。而是细想父亲对其女儿生活深远和重要的影响;好或坏。有关心的父亲的女孩在学习成绩上较优良。她们可能在学校比没有父亲的女孩获得较高成绩等级。积极的父亲鼓励其女儿留下来继续学习更多年,并寻求更高教育的成就。出现和注意的父亲帮其女儿有更好社交和沟通的能力。父亲增强这些能力,他关注其女儿的利益,并鼓励她表达其观点。在增强宗教的行为方面,父亲也有重要角色。

Skip to main content

The Importance of the Dead Sea Scrolls

Michael Heykoop

A random stone, thrown by a shepherd boy as he worked along the cliffs of Qumran, led to the most important archeological discovery of the 20th century, the Dead Sea Scrolls. Over seventy years later, clues are still being found that reshape our understanding of ancient documents and how they have been preserved.

How a Christian Should Respond to Government?

Stuart Wachowicz

Opinions vary widely regarding the proper administration of law and order in society today, often leading to unrest, protest and even violence. With such strong disagreement among people and groups, all striving to promote their own ideals and visions, are real peace and stability even possible? Ancient texts provide insights - for both government and the governed - that remain relevant even today.

Can Life be a Continual Party?

Javid Khan

We will eventually find that a party lifestyle loses its appeal. For example, celebrities with unlimited resources may reach a point where they see life as pointless and unsatisfying, not worth living—and so we hear of suicide attempts on the news. Some of you watching this may have also lived this life with no restrictions and restraint, and have gotten to the point where the sense of satisfaction and fulfillment has lost its appeal. This brings us to a philosophical dilemma. Is it wrong to have fun and enjoy life? Should life become mostly serious and predictable?

Overcoming Depression with Gratitude

Stuart Wachowicz

There is a plague in our midst that costs the global economy billions of dollars every year, and claims victims from the poorest to the richest among us. This modern epidemic is eroding health, wealth and happiness of young and old alike. This plague is not caused by a virus, yet it has spread like the most virulent of contagions. When one suffers from depression, all seems hopeless with seemingly no escape from distress. In this condition it is difficult to be grateful for anything and yet finding ways to show gratitude is one of the most effective natural ways to combat depression.

Three Reasons Why The Nuclear Family Is Fundamental To Society

Jonathan Riley

The nuclear family is the single most important institution in any society. Without it, our very existence would quickly become jeopardized. Yet there are some who are attempting to break down the family and by doing so, their efforts are an attack on humanity. Here are three reasons why the family unit is fundamental to society.

The Belt and Road Initiative

Stuart Wachowicz

The One Belt and One Road initiative is the most visionary and far-reaching international development since the 1940’s. This remarkable trade network, unprecedented in scale and potential, now promises to stimulate not only trade and commerce across Eurasia and Africa but also to contribute to cultural understanding and peaceful development.

Does Character Matter?

Michael Heykoop

With the sudden increase of sexual harassment claims against influential personalities, the question must be asked: “How did individuals of such low character come to prominence in the first place?”

Daughters Need Fathers

Kinnear Penman

Family is important. Oftentimes people focus on the role of fathers in the lives of their sons. What benefits will an active, attentive father provide in the life of his daughter? This is not to demean the influence of mothers nor overlook the needs of sons. But consider the deep and weighty effect that fathers have on the lives of their daughters; for good or bad. Girls with attentive fathers do better academically. They are likely to achieve higher grades in school than girls with absent fathers.